BRAWLERS ‘I Am A Worthless Piece Of Shit’

Brawlers 'I Am A Worthless Piece Of Shit' on Alcopop! Records

Brawlers ‘I Am A Worthless Piece Of Shit’ on Alcopop! Records

Leeds based punk rockers BRAWLERS are my favourite musical discovery this year. Seemingly appearing out of nowhere, these rad dudes announced at the beginning of the year that they would be releasing their first EP through super dope label Alcopop! Records this march!

‘I Am A Worthless Piece Of Shit’ the band’s debut EP is currently up for streaming here and it is RAD!

I spoke with frontman Harry for my other project, No Brainer – A music and design Zine I’ve produced with two of my homies. You can *Exclusively* read the interview here…But you should also pick up a copy of No Brainer too!

You seem to have exploded in the last few months, how has the reception been?
Its been rad! We’re a really new band you know? But we seem to be making friends every time we play (apart from that time I punched a guy out when we supported No Age). I thought people would be more suspicious about blowing up so quick, but mostly everyone has been super on our side.

You’re putting out the new record on Alcopop!, how psyched are you about that?
So bummed out. Psyche!
Yeah stoked, Jack is a dude and we’re very aware of the pitfalls of being a new poppy band that is getting popular fast.
Alcopop! are an independent label that genuinely seemed pleased to work with us and the simplicity of that in itself was and is such a draw to us.

What can you tell us about the new record?
It’s called ‘I am a worthless piece of shit’. It wont take you longer than 23 minutes to listen to it.

The new single is called ‘Instagram Famous’ – what’s the story there?
It’s just a playful song about the weirdness that is ‘the internet’. We all love Instagram and Facebook etc and we (as single young chaps) talk about this stuff a lot – it made sense to write a song about it! Beautiful girls complaining about how ugly and fat they are, exes calling out guys for getting new girlfriends, bloggers slagging records and films off and cowering behind their keyboards… its all funny and relevant to our everyday conversations in the van.

I read that you got banned from a Manchester venue last year. What happened there?
Yeah, that was dumb. I dunno.

Any other venues you’ve been banned from?
Uhmmm, no? We will. I fucking guarantee it.

Besides the new record, have you got anything else exciting planned for the year?
I guess tour? And we’re playing a ton of cool festivals in the summer too. We’ve never toured before. We played 2 days in a row down south last weekend and I swear we out-Motley Crued Motley Crue. I’ll be surprised if one of us doesn’t have a total nightmare if anyone ever puts us on tour…

Leave a Reply

