2000 Trees Festival

So festival season is pretty much upon us, and I will be dipping my toe in this week (or more likely diving in head first…) at 2000 Trees in Cheltenham.
After attending the first ever ArcTanGent last year, and having a tip-top bloody time, I thought I’d best get involved and see what the fuss was about its older brother, 2000 Trees.
Established in 2007, the folks behind 2000 Trees have been putting on gnarly lineups each and every year since, even bagging themselves the Grassroots Festival Award at last year’s UK Festival Awards! Not to be outdone, this year’s lineup is looking pretty massive, with a host of killer bands playing over the three days.

Dan Le Sac and Scroobius Pip are working their way through a run of festival dates this Summer, their final shows before they walk off into the sunset as a duo. They’re set to headline The Cave stage on the first night of the festival (Thursday that is, for those lucky enough to bag an early entry ticket,) and will likely be putting on a killer show before they part ways.
Yankee hardcore punk-heavyweights Trash Talk and The Bronx are making the trip from across the pond to cause utter destruction on our noble shores, the former causing chaos on a global scale to support the release of new record ‘NO PEACE’. Both will be headlining The Cave stage on Friday evening.

Elsewhere, following the hype surrounding their radical fourth album and tours around the US and the UK this year, Blood Red Shoes will be gracing the main stage on Friday evening. Whilst on tour, Blood Red Shoes were supported by Slaves and DZ Death Rays, two other radical two pieces who will also be appearing at 2000 Trees over the three days. Slaves are absolutely wild, and having recently signed to Virgin EMI, look to be making a massive impact this year.

Slaves

Slaves

Quite a few Birthday Cake for Breakfast favourites will be there dotted across the festival, and I’ll particularly be looking out for Dad Rocks! (aka, the nicest guy in music today) Gnarwolves, God Damn, The Computers, Arcane Roots, Brawlers, Delta Sleep, Jamie Lenman and Hawk Eyes. But overall, the main bands I’m most looking forward to are rad Birmingham three piece &U&I, and the awesome Tall Ships.

&U&I have only played a handful of dates in the past year and a bit, taking a breather as a band and focusing on other adventures. I was super excited to catch them during some of these shows, and was delighted to see them added to the 2000 Trees lineup. When I interviewed them last December, they hinted at new material in the works, so hopefully we hear some of that during their set at The Cave on Saturday.

&U&I

&U&I

As for Tall Ships, the last time I saw them was last August at ArcTanGent, and I’ve been missing them – severely. One of the highlights of that festival, Tall Ships are a brilliant live band. They’re set to play the main stage on Saturday evening, alongside Frightened Rabbit and Public Service Broadcasting. It happens to be my Birthday on the Sunday, so I’ll be bringing it forward a little early and celebrating it watching Tall Ships!

I can already tell it’s going to be one hell of a festival. I’m excited just thinking about it, and have been for months! Fuck Glastonbury! I couldn’t give two shits about Reading and Leeds! This year is all about 2000 Trees and ArcTanGent!

Leave a Reply

