a/s/l ATG Special: Space Blood

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

With ArcTanGent Festival being a mere week away, Birthday Cake For Breakfast reached out to a number of bands on the bill – mainly the likely highlights of the festival! This edition: Space Blood!

Space Blood new

a/s/l?
William: 31 / M / Chicago.
Sam: 29 / M / Chicago.

Have you ever seen a dead body?
Sam: At funerals and such, yeah. Not like, in a dumpster or anything.

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
William: Lionel Hutz.

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
Sam: My human centipede drawing diagram shirt.

What did your last text message say?
William: “I’m going to pizazz him.”

What’s the last song you listened to?
Sam: Tangled Hair – Just Like That.

How did you meet the people in your band?
William: Through the wonders of Craigslist.

What’s the first record you bought?
Sam: When i was about 9 or 10 years old i bought Green Day ‘Dookie’ and Alanis Morissette’s ‘Jagged Little Pill’ at my local record shop.

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
William: Robocop.

When was the last time you cried?
Sam: Space boys dont cry.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
William: Oh yeah.

Best Physical Feature?
Sam: Definitely my dick. Definitely.

Worst physical feature?
William: Having tiny pinky fingers.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that you’re not fussed about?
Sam: My popeye calves.

Do you have any pets?
William: Nope, I’m not a pet person.

Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
Sam: One time, in my last band, I was carrying my drummers floor tom through an almost pitch black hallway to get to the stage. I didn’t realise there was a step and I completely ate shit. The leg of the floor tom, which was extremely pointy and all metal, caught the blunt of my fall against the wall, which gutted me from my belly button to my nipple. I didn’t bleed a lot, but it was so red it looked like i drew a line on my torso with Jessica Rabbit-red lipstick, and it felt like i had been stabbed.

What did you do for your last birthday?
Will: I did an all-night rager with a bunch of friends that started at my favourite bar in Chicago, Rainbo Club, then I got blackout drunk and we went to some other bars and ended at my favourite all-night 24 hour diner, Hollywood Grill, and then concluded by trying to go to a Polish speaking bar that opens early in the morning, but we got there around 7am and it was still too early before they opened and decided to call it a day. It was a good time.

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
Sam: I’ll name a few! ArcTanGent. New season of Black Mirror. My dogs to be potty trained.

Do you have a crush on someone?
William: Yeah, hey it happens. I wear a mask, but I’m still human… I think.

What’s the shittest experience you’ve had as a musician?
Sam: When i was 20, my band played our first show back after a year long hiatus, in front of about 500 people. There was a lot of stress before the show and I had band members telling me how big of a deal this show was and to not fuck up. About halfway through our set, i broke a bass string, and of course I didn’t have a back up bass or new strings. So over the PA system I had to ask for another band to let me use a bass, and no one would let me. We stood there awkwardly for a few minutes trying to figure out what to do when finally a band member reluctantly handed me his bass. Turns out, it was a 5 stringer, and i had never played on one. I fucked up the whole 2nd half of the set so bad that one of my guitarists told me to just stop playing. I immediately sprinted to the van after the performance, had the worst anxiety attack I’ve ever had, and blacked out. It was great!

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
William: New York City, 1977, because to me personally to be able to see the rise of the post-punk and No Wave scene would be amazing. It’s one of my favourite periods of music and culture.

How do you want to die?
Sam: Preferably not slowly.

What’s your favourite thing about pizza?
William: Oh jeez, that’s like asking what’s your favourite thing of your favourite thing. I guess if I had to choose it’s the lack of judgement I receive from pizza that I receive from everyone else for constantly eating it. Also, Chicago pizza forever!!!

What are you craving right now?
Sam: Shit. Now i want pizza.

Have you ever been on a horse?
William: Yes, I hated it, never again.

What did you dream about last night?
Sam: I hadn’t slept in about 42 hours, so there were no dreams. Only blackness.

If you could go back in time and kill the baby Hitler, would you?
William: I’m already not a fan of babies so adding Hitler to the equation only solidifies my YES for this answer.

Do you like Chinese food?
Sam: Yeah! My new jam has been this spicy mango and green pepper chicken dish. And lots of crab rangoon.

Have you ever been on TV?
William: Yes, a few times actually. The weirdest time was the last time and Sam and I’s old band, An Aesthetic Anaesthetic, were practising at our old practice space and we got a knock on the door and it was a TV crew who was doing a story on the building because it was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and out of the whole band I was the one who ended up actually being on TV. It was kind of surreal. I was also recently interviewed by a film crew at a Mono show in Chicago, which was very random, for a documentary the band was putting together about the recording of their new album, which was done in Chicago by Steve Albini. Keep an eye out for that Mono documentary and you might see me in it.

Ever meet someone famous?
Sam: I was a production manager/booking agent for 12 years for a lot of bigger Chicago venues, so I’ve met my fair share of dingus and danguses.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
William: Some sort of haberdasher.

Space Blood are about to embark on their Brentrance To The UK Tour, with dates prior to ArcTanGent including Guildford, Derby, Leeds and Birmingham! Click below for more!

Space

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

