a/s/l: Samoans

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

This week: Daniel Barnett, singer/guitarist in Samoans

(Photo Credit: Stephen McLeod Blythe)

(Photo Credit: Stephen McLeod Blythe)

a/s/l?
32/Yes please/Cardiff

Have you ever seen a dead body?
Never, although I’m fascinated with death.

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
Probably Hans Moleman, mainly because it’s the nickname for our guitarist Oli.

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
I’m topless. In bed. Picture that (it’s not good).

What did your last text message say?
“What a pain especially with the weather we’ve had”. Exciting conversations with my dad about my flooded kitchen.

What’s the last song you listened to?
Aerial Love by Daniel Johns. Still addicted to it.

How did you meet the people in your band?
Calvin gatecrashed my 23/24 birthday (can’t remember which) and we bonded over our mutual love of Secondsmile, who in my opinion are still very underrated.
I met Oli through his old band ‘OK’ and instantly liked him. Such a great guitarist (which masks my shoddy playing).
I met Chris our drummer when my old band played a gig in Cardiff with his old band Hold Your Horses. He noticed I had a Reuben tattoo and came up to me on stage after we played and showed me his Reuben tattoo. We’ve been friends ever since.

What’s the first record you bought?
Coolio – Gangstas Paradise.

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
Terminator 2. Still amazing now.

When was the last time you cried?
I’m not one to get emotional over music but I balled my eyes out watching Sigur Ros live in June.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
I’m probably the one people regret kissing.

Best Physical Feature?
My Roman nose.

Worst physical feature?
My beer gut.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that you’re not fussed about?
Eyes (I have a slightly lazy eye).

Do you have any pets?
My next door neighbours cat. She thinks she lives in my house. I’m super allergic though, so of course she fucking loves me.

Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
When touring/playing with my other band Drains I would come back with chunks of skin missing from various limbs (drum kit dives were frequent) and blood stains on my gear.

What did you do for your last birthday?
Fuck knows. Can’t even remember what I did yesterday.

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
Sleep. It’s the fucking best.

Do you have a crush on someone?
Leslie Feist.

What’s the shittest experience you’ve had as a musician?
Driving all the way from Manchester to Bristol to play a show and as we start playing the promoter bailed with all the gig money leaving us with no pay and me and our old drummer arguing with the venue owner. The others would probably say their worst experience is me being ill and shitting on a tour bus (which you’re not meant to do – I cleaned it out myself. It was grim and fucking stank).

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
Dinosaurs obvs.

How do you want to die?
Kinda like Wayne and Garth doing a mock Thelma and Louise cliff death.

What’s your favourite thing about pizza?
Everything. How can anyone not like pizza?

What are you craving right now?
Coffee (and what follows).

Have you ever been on a horse?
Yes. It was really uncomfortable.

What did you dream about last night?
You.

If you could go back in time and kill the baby Hitler, would you?
Fuck no. He was a right cunt but I don’t believe in changing history.

Do you like Chinese food?
I prefer Thai.

Have you ever been on TV?
I’ve been an extra in a film that Gruff Rhys Jones was in, does that count?

Ever meet someone famous?
Yes, we’ve been quite fortunate to meet some great people since playing in Samoans, like all the guys in No Devotion, who we grew up listening to. James Dean Bradfield from the Manics is sound too. Once when I was in uni in 2002/3, me and my mate Huw busted into the dressing room in Cardiff Barfly and hung out with Biffy Clyro who were all really friendly.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Astronaut.

Samoans have just announced a run of shows with Glasgow’s Atlas : Empirekicking off October 1st in Cardiff! Check out the full list of dates below!

Atlas

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

