a/s/l: Post War Glamour Girls

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

This week: J.Smith, singer/guitarist in Post War Glamour Girls!

(Photo Credit: Emily Marlow)

(Photo Credit: Emily Marlow)

a/s/l?
26/male/Leeds.

Have you ever seen a dead body?
No.

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
Lionel Hutz.

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
Light blue torso with dark blue long sleeves.

What did your last text message say?
‘Hey Bud, you at the Bridge? Bx’

What’s the last song you listened to?
Silver Apples – I Have Known Love.

How did you meet the people in your band?
Alice – In a lift both wearing Sonic Youth t-shirts.
James Thorpe – Outside Uni and he was eating an egg sandwich and offered me a bite…
Ben – In a friend’s flat watching The Old Grey Whistle Test DVD box set all night.

What’s the first record you bought?
With my own money my first single was: DJ Luck and MC Neat – Piano Loco

My first album with my own money was: Gorillaz – Gorillaz

Earlier purchases I had bought for or gifted included the first Britney Spears album, Mambo No. 5, Who Let The Dogs Out, Three Lions, Vindaloo and Livin La Vida Loca.
The Beautiful South, Cypress Hill and Public Enemy were my mum and dad’s CDs I can remember claiming as my own when I got a walkman for my 10th birthday as well.

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
Wizbit with Paul Daniels or Basil The Great Mouse Detective.

When was the last time you cried?
Last night watching The Story Of Anvil and relating to it on so many levels.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
No.

Best Physical Feature?
My glasses.

Worst physical feature?
None.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that you’re not fussed about?
Hairy Arse.

Do you have any pets?
Two cats, Peter and Dot.

Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
That’s mainly Alice that happens to. She fell into a washing machine and did her back in a few years ago on tour and then when we were in Scotland recording the new album, a local Osteopath was pissed at a party we were at and offered to help her out, but made it much worse kneeling on her shoulders on the floor with this bottle of whisky being passed round and all this n’ that. It’s been troublesome. She’s alright though.

What did you do for your last birthday?
I share my birthday with the love of my life and so we have all our friends round for a big ol’ BBQ every year. It’s great.

Do you have a crush on someone?
Paul Rudd.

What’s the shittest experience you’ve had as a musician?
When I first watched The Story of Anvil a few years ago I thought it was a comedy. But last night re-watching it I didn’t laugh and I was just nodding in agreement… I saw myself in Lips. And he’s working his day job for Meals and Wheels or whatever and he says of the band’s situation “No matter what happens, It can’t get worse than it already is” and wow… I couldn’t pin point one single time. It’s kept me awake at night wondering if anyone will like the next record we put out, I worry about everything… It is tough but we definitely put ourselves through all that because the positives DO outweigh the negatives. Creating something new with Alice, Ben and James is my favourite thing in the world, long may it continue.

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
The Story of Anvil 2.

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
The start.

How do you want to die?
Old and happy and not alone.

What’s your favourite thing about pizza?
Pizza is only in competition with pizza.

What are you craving right now?
Coffee.

Have you ever been on a horse?
No but I have been near one.

What did you dream about last night?
It was a zombie apocalypse and I could fly and my cat Dot was running into the herd and I was flying into save her. It was more of a nightmare.

If you could go back in time and kill the baby Hitler, would you?
Listen mate, I’ve watched Back To The Future, I’m not getting involved in any of this.

Do you like Chinese food?
Yeah it’s almost as good as pizza.

Have you ever been on TV?
I was on the Sky Sports News loop for 24 hours getting Roy Keane’s autograph outside the Carrington training ground after he was red carded against FC Porto in the Champions League, 2003 I think… or 2004.
*Edit* – My partner has just pointed out that I have been on TV loads because I’m an extra on Emmerdale.

Ever meet someone famous?
I punched Fred Talbot in the leg when I was 8 and told Billie Joe Armstrong to fuck off when I was 21.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Lips from Anvil.

September 30th will see Post War Glamour Girls team up with the brilliant Too Pure Singles Club in releasing a very special 7”! In celebration of Jumbo records 45th Anniversary, Post War Glamour Girls will release ‘Welfare By Prozac’ on a limited edition, primary red split with Menace Beach! You can pre-order the split here and listen to it below!

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

