a/s/l: Kamikaze Girls

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

This week: Kamikaze Girls!

a/s/l?
Lucinda: 25/female/homeless
Conor: 26/male/Guiseley 

Have you ever seen a dead body?
Lucinda: No.
Conor: No.

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
Lucinda: Santa’s little Helper, duh!

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
Lucinda: I’m wearing a hideous flowery blouse I bought in a thrift store in Vancouver for $4.
Conor: I’m wearing a pink plaid flannel shirt.

What did your last text message say?
Lucinda: ‘I’m watching Naked Attraction and it’s pretty interesting’
Conor: ‘Just doing a make-up, won’t be long’

Whats the last song you listened to?
Lucinda: Cyndi Lauper – Money Changes Everything.
Conor: Mount Kimbe – Before I forget. 

How did you meet the people in your band?
L+C: MySpace (not really)

Whats the first record you bought?
Lucinda: Aqua – Aquarium.
Conor: Britney Spears – Lucky.

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
Lucinda: Backstreet Boys – Chapter One.
Conor: Disney Aristocrats. 

When was the last time you cried?
Lucinda: When I saw Julien Baker play in Brighton.
Conor:  Outside a rock club night in Leeds after drinking too much gin, whilst having a nose bleed.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
Lucinda + Conor: No! All kissing is good kissing. 

Best Physical Feature?
Lucinda: My hair.
Conor: My thighs. 

Worst physical feature?
Lucinda: Everything that’s not my hair.
Conor: My spare tyre.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that youre not fussed about?
Lucinda: They’re all awful, sorry.
Conor: My sneaky eyebrows.

Do you have any pets?
Lucinda: I have a 15 year old pup called Minnie, she’s a cutie.
Conor: A border collie Nell, and a giant greyhound Bella.

Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
Lucinda: My face gets bitten to death every time I go to Europe. I also once got a splitting pain in my heart during a show we played with Nai Harvest. I turned round to Conor during our set to have him mouth back ‘Are you crying?!’ I just sat on the floor for the most part.
Conor: I popped a callus on our first tour, and it well hurt for the rest of the shows. I nearly broke my foot jumping off a stage in Sunderland. Having Crohns can be pretty tough whilst on tour too.

What did you do for your last birthday?
Lucinda: I got a train from Hull to London then watched Buffy the Vampire slayer by myself.
Conor: I had a super chill day, went to the pub with some friends to watch the football, then carried on drinking and ending up dancing the night away in leeds.

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
Lucinda: Our American tour in October / November.
Conor: Same as what Lucinda said.

Do you have a crush on someone?
Lucinda: Yup, majorly crushin’ right now.
Conor: Maybe 😉

Whats the shittest experience youve had as a musician?
Lucinda: There’s been so many over the years none really stand out. But the worst recent one was a guy shouting horrible misogynistic stuff at me while I played an acoustic song on my own mid-set in Belgium. Awful.
Conor: I’m fairly lucky in the sense that we’ve always managed to surround ourselves with great like minded people on tour, so I’ve never really had any really really bad situations. The worst was probably dropping Lucinda’s GoPro into the sea in Florida last year after a massive wave hit me and snapped the tripod. It’s fine though I bought her a new one eventually!

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
Lucinda: To when Michael Jackson’s solo career kicked off and I would go to every single one of his shows.
Conor: Who wants to go back in time, I want hover boards and flying cars now. 

How do you want to die?
Lucinda: I honestly don’t mind as long as I went out with a bang. So maybe fireworks?
Conor: Live Fast and Keep Going.

Whats your favourite thing about pizza?
Lucinda: BBQ Base.
Conor: Mellow Mushroom do a Blue Cheese, Shrimp and Bacon Pizza which is unreal. I miss that every single day now that I’m a veggie.

What are you craving right now?
Lucinda: We’re in Belgium after sound checking waiting for the show to start and I would kill for a coffee right now.
Conor: Mellow Mushroom Blue Cheese, Shrimp and Bacon.

Have you ever been on a horse?
Lucinda: Yes, I was terrible at it!
Conor: Yes, once when I was younger and on holiday.

What did you dream about last night?
Lucinda: Sriracha Mayo.
Conor: I dreamt I was sleeping on a floor in Germany after playing a great show in a cool Anti Fascist venue that used to be a world war bunker. Then I woke up and remembered that that actually happened.

Do you like Chinese food?
Lucinda: Yes. Vegetable chow mein all the way. I’m planning on opening a wrestling theme takeaway when I retire called ‘Can You Smell what the Wok is cooking?’
Conor: Yes.

Have you ever been on TV?
Lucinda: Yes, I was on national television when I started a new job once. Awkward as hell.
Conor: No. 

Ever meet someone famous?
Lucinda: Quite a few. The best famous person I met was Whitney Houston when I was 10 years old. I was in the same holiday resort as her and her kids and Bobby brown. I was in the kids club with her kids and one night she did karaoke and sung ‘Say My Name’ by Destiny’s Child. I’ll never forget that. Also David Guest (Michael Jackson’s best pal) came to one of our shows one in York. I dedicated a song to him.
Conor: I went to a Leeds United open day at Elland Road when I was younger, I got to meet Allen Smith and Harry Kewell, who both turned out to be rubbish people, don’t meet your idols guys.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Lucinda: In a band… or a wrestler.
Conor: In a band, or an astronaut.

Kamikaze Girls have just put out their debut EP! ‘SAD’ is available now through Bearded Punk Records (UK/EU) and Wiretap Records (US) – Grab yourself a copy on vinyl by clicking below!

kam-2

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

