a/s/l: blanket

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

This week: Front man in blanket, Mr Bobby Pook himself!

blanket

a/s/l?
56/female/post office.

Have you ever seen a dead body?
I have, Blackpool bus station (course it was) drug overdose, they love it round here.

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
Police Chief Wiggum or just plain old Homer, man.

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
X-files.

What did your last text message say?
“Need 2 little to big adapters, help me!”

What’s the last song you listened to?
Childish Gambino – ‘Redbone‘.

How did you meet the people in your band?
I’ve known Simon and Shelly for years, we used to be in ‘Scouts’ together. Blackpool’s tiny so we all know anyone who is half decent at musak.

What’s the first record you bought?
Vic and Bob – Dizzy.

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
The Princess Bride, wore that shit out.

When was the last time you cried?
Lala Land, it was Gosling’s stare that did it.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
Oh yeah, loads.

Best Physical Feature?
I do have a strong nose.

Worst physical feature?
Literal B-cup man boobs.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that you’re not fussed about?
I’m indifferent about my hands.

Do you have any pets?
No, I had a cat, but he left me.

Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
Loads, slipped on the stage in Scotland and went horizontal.

What did you do for your last birthday?
Went bowling, drank beers, went to Karaoke, did a mean version of Meatloaf’s I will do anything for love.

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
This blanket Euro tour is gonna be p kewl.

Do you have a crush on someone?
Scar Jo, every time (Scarlett Johansson – Ed.)

What’s the shittest experience you’ve had as a musician?
I got so wrecked at a show on the youmeatsix tour years ago that I didn’t go to sleep till 11am. Even by the time sound check came I could barely move, played really shit and said some things.

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
I’d probably reel it in a little tbf.

How do you want to die?
On loads of warm fuzzy hospital drugs in a warm bed.

What’s your favourite thing about pizza?
That it physically hurts me every time I eat it.

What are you craving right now?
Nothing, I just ate pizza, ow.

Have you ever been on a horse?
Yeah; it was called Crunchy and it ran off with me on its back coz I wouldn’t let it eat the grass.

What did you dream about last night?
Think I had some crazy whacky nightmare, can’t remember.

If you could go back in time and kill the baby Hitler, would you?
I dunnnnnnnooooooo man, I don’t have a hurtful bone in my body, then again he did kill millions of people, hmmmm.

Do you like Chinese food?
I do, a lot.

Have you ever been on TV?
My band has, a few times, I think that’s it. I think I was in the background at a Sheffield Wednesday game once.

Ever meet someone famous?
I don’t really care about anyone famous, I walked past Chris Morris in London though, and Ellen Paige, that’s the same isn’t it.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
“I wanna be a mother fuckin hustler, ya batter ask somebody” – Snoop Dogg.

Our Brief Encounters‘, the debut EP from blanket is out February 10th! Read our review of the record here!

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

