a/s/l: Big Scary Monsters

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

This week: Kev and Dave of mega indie label Big Scary Monsters!

bsma/s/l?
K – 33, M, Oxford.
D – 35, M, London.

Have you ever seen a dead body?
K – Yes in Prague on the way to a church made of bones. I was nonplussed, which is kinda worrying in itself. Jack Alcopop was silent for hours.
D – Nah!

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
K – (Ed – Kev just provided this link, but he’s quite right)
D – Ralph. Visionary in a crazy world.

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
K – Some white-ish t-shirt I bought in USA.
D – A Free Throw shirt featuring Scrubs.

What did your last text message say?
K – ‘LOL’
D – ‘Jesus Christ’

What’s the last song you listened to?
K & D – PUP – ‘Pine Point

How did you meet the people in your band/label?
K & D – I was sick in Dave’s sink, while he was being sick in the toilet.

What’s the first record you bought?
K – Fresh Prince – Code Red
D – The Farm – Cover of ‘Don’t You Want Me Baby’

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
K – Match of the Day 1970s highlights.
D – E.T.

When was the last time you cried?
K – The morning after I met Dave.
D – The other week at the tattooist. Beyond brutal.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
K – YES. Obviously.
D – They might have regretted it.

Best Physical Feature?
K – ‘Nice Eyes’
D – I’m very long.

Worst physical feature?
K – ‘Calf’s like Johnny Bravo’
D – I‘ve got a face shaped like the fucking moon.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that you’re not fussed about?
K – Feet are a bang average size 9.
D – My outstanding pseudo-scouse accent.

Do you have any pets?
K – Yes Ron Swanson – the sausage dog. Have you seen our logo?
D – I wish.

bsm-popup

Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
K – At End of the Road festival, I told Matt Stagecoach I could kick the beanie off his head, while he was standing up. I fell over, broke my wrist, and went to A&E.
D – No – but I did cut my finger off in a lawnmower. I now have a stump.

What did you do for your last birthday?
K – Had a BSM stage at Truck. Drank Fruity Cider, watched Gnarwolves, went home and watched the whole first series of The Office on the sofa while eating chicken. I was 33.
D – I think it was Letlive at The Dome. Got drunk and decamped to the Irish Bar to watch karaoke and the best rendition of Informer – Snow I’ve ever seen…

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
K – My first thought was death…..
D – My wedding … (I have to give at least one semi -serious answer)

Do you have a crush on someone?
K – Liv – PWR BTTM
D – As I’m getting married this year– definitely no. Not ever.

What’s the shittest experience you’ve had in music?
K – Jairus.
D – Getting so drunk at Reading I mixed up band members. Embarrassing.

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
K – All the way. Nah – early 90s. Invest in Apple. Sign Oasis and gamble on football.
D – 1991. I need to relive Tranmere Rovers past glories.

How do you want to die?
K – I’d like to be shot. Instant and I’d be famous.
D – Gin based.

What are you craving right now?
K – That fateful bullet….
D – Security.

Have you ever been on a horse?
K – No.
D – Yes – and I was fucking petrified.

If you could go back in time and kill the baby Hitler, would you?
K – Yeah.
D – This is fucking bleak – how about I just go to his art school and set him right?

Have you ever been on TV?
K – Yeah  Swedish TV – it’s on our YouTube somewhere.
D – Nah – I’ve not the face for it.

Ever meet someone famous?
K – Ryan Giggs.
D – Does Geoff from Thursday count? I got a little fan boy….

What do you want to be when you grow up?
K – Shot. (see earlier point)
D – Alive.

Having been trailblazers for years now and selling more records than you could imagine, Big Scary Monsters decided to go and open up their own bloody shop! Open now until the 4th of February, the popup in Hackney celebrates the 16th birthday/200 releases of the label, featuring rare and exclusive records, merch, instores, live screen printing, local beers and more! The poster is up there, and you can find out further details here!

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

