What’s On Michael Portillo’s iPod: Sweet Baboo

Here at Birthday Cake For Breakfast, we like to get to the heart of what an artist is all about. We feel the music they listen to is just as important as the music they make. With that in mind, we’re delighted to have our first artist – Sweet Baboo – talking about five releases that got him in the mood during the production of his latest album.

(Photo Credit: Ryan Eddleston)

Hello Birthday Cake for Breakfast,

Thank you for asking me to be included on Michael Portillo’s I-pod. I’m not sure if he will like my selection (I’m not familiar with his taste) but here are some records that I have been listening to as of late and which helped shape the latest Sweet Baboo album.

Number 1Robert Wyatt – ‘Maryan’ (Shleep, 1997)

Robert Wyatt is the best. I love this song and think about it a lot. A must for any I-pod, no matter how small.”

Number 2: Bee Gees ‘You Win Again’ (ESP, 1987)

“I’m guessing Michael Portillo might have ‘The Best of the Bee Gees‘ on his I-pod already but you can’t go wrong with a bit of the g’s.
We had two touchstones for the new Sweet Baboo album. This was one of them.”

Number 3: Frank Ocean’s album Blonde (2016)

This was the other one. I’d like to think we stuck rigidly to our influences and achieved a lovely balance of the two.”

Number 4: Mort Garson’s album Plantasia (1976)

I’ve no idea if Michael Portillo is a fan of Gardening, I think he’s more of a train man but I think this album is pretty transferable from one hobby to another. Imagine taking the West Highland Railway Line from Glasgow to Mallaig with this as your i-pod soundtrack. Magical!

A quick look on I-tunes though and unfortunately the album is not available to download so either Portillo or I will have to rip it ‘illegally’ from the internet unless the train has super fast broadband onboard.”

Number 5: Finally and by no means least (you can always shuffle)
Cluster’s album Grosses Wasser (1979)

“Music for any occasion, from dinner party to morning workout. We used this album for both activities whilst making the new album. It comes highly recommended.

I think my selections have pretty universal appeal. And that’s it.

Wild Imagination‘ is out June 2nd on Moshi Moshi. Pre-order a copy (or two) here.

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

