a/s/l: Chiyoda Ku

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

This week: Charlie Barnes, guitarist in the phenomenal Chiyoda Ku!

(Photo Credit: Honzacolar.com)

a/s/l?
21, boy, too far south in England.

Have you ever seen a dead body?
Not a human one.

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
I like Jub-Jub – Selmas pet iguana.

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
I’m wearing a shirt from a band called KLS from Spain. It’s got a young boy crying on it. I like it and them a lot.

What did your last text message say?
‘yeah man tell me about it! nah don’t think so x’ – that’s exciting isn’t it.

What’s the last song you listened to?
Deerhoof  Oh Bummer

How did you meet the people in your band?
We all met at the Academy of Music and Sound in Exeter, we all bonded over our common hatred of the Academy. We were all quite angry back then.

What’s the first record you bought?
I think It was Busted, loved them when I was a wee boy.

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
Not sure. I remember my dad buying me a Walking with Dinosaurs DVD from a gift shop somewhere. He said that one day we would be able to afford a DVD player and we would be able to watch it. I got to see it a few years later and it was great.

When was the last time you cried?
We’re living in Exeter at the moment so we all cry a lot.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
Don’t think so.

Best Physical Feature?
Height.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that you’re not fussed about?
Very slender arms.

Do you have any pets?
No pets for me.

Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
Not as of yet.

What did you do for your last birthday?
I worked behind the bar at the Stag and Hounds, can’t remember what gig was on. this year though we’ve got a show in the Netherlands on my birthday, so I’m very excited for that.

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
ARCTANGENT.

What’s the shittest experience you’ve had as a musician?
Touring with Memory of Elephants.

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
I’d go back to the Triassic period, as long as I can come back again after.

How do you want to die?
Don’t mind, I’m easy.

What’s your favourite thing about pizza?
Dominoes Dip.

What are you craving right now?
Apple crumble.

Have you ever been on a horse?
Nope.

If you could go back in time and kill the baby Hitler, would you?
Nah, not one for killing. I’d have a word with his parents though.

Do you like Chinese food?
Ye boy chow main!

Have you ever been on TV?
Nope!

Ever meet someone famous?
One time I met the guitarist from Alright the Captain, omg I was well excited.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Happy.

Chiyoda Ku are on the vinegar strokes of finishing their debut album ‘How It Works’ – but they need your help! Learn all about their IndieGoGo campaign here!

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

