a/s/l: Energy

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

This week: Jason ‘Tank’ Tankerley, frontman of Boston punks ENERGY!

(Photo Credit: The Shortest Meg)

a/s/l?
32/M/Boston.

Have you ever seen a dead body?
Yes.

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
Homer.

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
A mesh long sleeve, scoop-neck tall T.

What did your last text message say?
“Maybe a lot later”

What’s the last song you listened to?
I Do Not Want This‘ by Nine Inch Nails.

How did you meet the people in your band?
Nick asked Energy to play, then he asked me to make a music video for his band, then I asked him and his bass player Mike to join. Between the two of them, they assembled the rest of the lineup. This was all around October of 2016.

What’s the first record you bought?
The first vinyl record that I remember owning was Black Sabbath’s ‘Paranoid’.

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
Either my Samhain box set VHS, or my Danzig VHS tapes.

When was the last time you cried?
Less than a week ago.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
Absolutely.

Best Physical Feature?
My face.

Worst physical feature?
I guess my current physical state, but that only takes about a few weeks of dedicated working out and dieting for me to be happy with myself again.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that you’re not fussed about?
I guess my butt. I’m told it’s cute, but I think I need to do more squats.

Do you have any pets?
I have a cat, a dog, and my roommate / future sister-in-law has a bearded dragon.

Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
I sprained my ankle multiple times, broke my knuckle by punching the stage, fell into the drumset, fell offstage multiple times, and I seem to collide with someone in my band to the point where I’m bleeding afterwards at least once a show it seems.

What did you do for your last birthday?
Energy left for a quick east coast tour on my actual birthday this year, so I had a good time.

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
People to hear the new Energy songs, the next time I get to smoke weed.

Do you have a crush on someone?
Nothing that I can foresee materializing anytime soon.

What’s the shittest experience you’ve had as a musician?
Not making a sustainable living off of it by now.

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
Just far back enough where I was high still.

How do you want to die?
With the entire world wanting more of me.

What’s your favourite thing about pizza?
I’m a very picky eater, but pizza is everywhere. That’s my favourite thing about it.

What are you craving right now?
Weed.

Have you ever been on a horse?
I have never been on a horse.

What did you dream about last night?
Nothing. I hardly ever dream.

If you could go back in time and kill the baby Hitler, would you?
I mean, would I be thrown in prison and / or tortured and killed for this? I don’t know how to answer this question. I’ll just quote Spock and say “The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few”.

Do you like Chinese food?
No.

Have you ever been on TV?
Yes.

Ever meet someone famous?
Yes.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
A big rock & roll star, so no one fucks with me.

Energy return to the UK this summer as headliners, following their Spring 2017 Tour with Creeper. Joined by Miss Vincent on all dates, the tour kicks off July 29th in Manchester at Satans Hollow!

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

