This One Song… Albertine Sarges on The Girls

Tell you what – we love hearing from artists when things go right. We equally love hearing from artists when things go dreadfully wrong. A song that was a piece of piss, written in 20 minutes? Or years in the making and a bastard to write?

Whether it’s a song that came together through great duress or one that was smashed out in a short amount of time, we’re getting the lowdown from some of our favourites on the one song that they can’t stop thinking about – in their own words.

In the run up to the release of her debut album ‘The Sticky Fingers‘, Albertine Sarges talks us through ‘The Girls’ (as featured in our Top 50 Songs of 2020). Take it away, Albertine

It was a dull summer depression day and I didn’t have much to say, to a point where I couldn’t stand myself. But I was lucky and my friend Harriet called me from Finland. And she told me of a picnic she had with a girl friend, and how in between the layers of roughly cut eggs, cream cheese and radishes, along a fine line of bread crumbs on the picnic blanket, a magnetic field opened up. A feeling that was more than friendship.

Harriet’s story fuelled my fantasies! She said, why don’t you go to the rehearsal room right now and write a song about it, send it before midnight. I took my new guitar, a gibson sg, and rushed over to the former post office building, down into the wet cellar, closed all doors behind me and came up with the bass riff right away.

I looped everything, added pitch effects to it and turned it up real loud, danced to it, laughed about my own jokes. Then I recorded it with my phone and sent it to my friend and she turned it up real loud on her hifi – a story becomes a feeling becomes a song within a couple of hours. The album recording doesn’t differ much, I kept it basically like it is, a bit more polished.”

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.