a/s/l: Joyce

Remember the days of the old schoolyard? Remember when Myspace was a thing? Remember those time-wasting, laborious quizzes that everyone used to love so much? Birthday Cake For Breakfast is bringing them back! 

Every couple of weeks, an unsuspecting band will be subject to the same old questions about dead bodies, Hitler, crying and crushes.  

This Week: Off the back of releasing new single ‘R​.​U​.​R‘, Joyce a.k.a Running Punk Jimmy Watkins answers a series of inane questions!

a/s/l?
40/male/Bath.

Have you ever seen a dead body?
Yes. I saw someone fall down a concrete staircase in London when I was 18. They died immediately on contact with the ground. I had their blood on my white, grass-stained trainers, and I caught their mobile phone as it fell out of their hand.

Who is your favourite Simpsons character?
I have honestly never seen a full episode of The Simpsons. From what I have seen, I really like Marge. She seems like she’d be part of a cool book club, and I imagine her making mashed potato with no lumps.

What T-Shirt are you wearing?
A t-shirt with a dj on it and the word Butter underneath.

What did your last text message say?
I can’t stop listening to this remix today! Perfect.

What’s the last song you listened to?
Looking for Satellites by David Bowie.

How did you meet the people in your band?
On the latest Joyce single it’s myself, my dad, and Stale Winton. I met my dad when I was younger, and I met Stale Winton while I was earning my BTEC in rhythm guitar with Future of the Left and we gigged with God Damn.

What’s the first record you bought?
Everything Must Go by the Manic Street Preachers.

What was your favourite VHS growing up?
Vanishing Point.

When was the last time you cried?
It was either when my son was born in 2017, or the finale of The Traitors. Both were big moments in my life.

Have you ever kissed someone & regretted it?
I’ve never regretted kissing someone, but I’ve regretted talking to lots of people.

Best Physical Feature?
My whole body.

Worst physical feature?
My brain.

Reasonably ok/not bad feature that you’re not fussed about?
The warmth I leave behind on the pillow when I wake up every morning.

Do you have any pets?
I’ve got a goldfish. It has no name, but I once had a dream his name was Prawn.


Ever picked up any injuries on tour?
Aside from the occasional hamstring or calf pull, I’ve been lucky on tour. I did break my nose and jaw in a fight a few days before going on tour in 2012 though. Great days!

What did you do for your last birthday?
I went for a run. Wore a zebra print gilet and drank a load of alcohol-free beers.

Name something you CANNOT wait for?
The day my nervous tick vanishes.

Do you have a crush on someone?
Yes. Anna Kavan.

What’s the shittest experience you’ve had as a musician?
Uploading any Joyce song on the BBC Uploader. Thinking I looked cool with a Les Paul was a pretty shitty experience too.

If you could go back in time, how far would you go?
I’d go back to the fourteenth century to start a podcast with The Wife of Bath from The Canterbury Tales.

How do you want to die?
In a busy place, shouting random dates at anyone who looks at me. Saying things like “See you on October the 5th, 2048”. You know. Just to mess with their heads. I’d also like to die like Joseph Knecht in The Glass Bead Game. He’s feeling unwell, so swims in a freezing cold lake and never returns.

What’s your favourite thing about pizza?
The scraping sound a pizza paddle makes as it slides in and out of a pizza oven.

What are you craving right now?
I’ve been vegan since January the first and I’m craving a Terry’s Chocolate Orange and a cup of tea.

Have you ever been on a horse?
I have indeed. I used to go horse riding a lot as a kid. I fell off one once and landed on a cattle grid.

What did you dream about last night?
Someone stole my identity, and I went to this shop near my house to talk to the fridges to find out what I had to do next. I ended up arguing with tins of Dunn’s River Nourishment.

If you could go back in time and kill the baby Hitler, would you?
Only if I could become a baby myself. If I’m going to save the world, I want it to be a fair fight.

Do you like Chinese food?
I like all food. I’m a big fan of Chinese chips.

Have you ever been on TV?
Lots of times.

Ever meet someone famous?
I have a lot of famous person stories, but one of my favourites is about the time I met Will Arnett and he asked me to make him a scrambled egg panini. I also had an electric shock in front of Natasha Lyonne!

What do you want to be when you grow up?
A lighthouse keeper.

R​.​U​.​R‘ is out NOW  – Buy yourself the Digital Track here!

Like what you see? Why not stick around and check out the other articles and interviews!
Don’t forget to follow Birthday Cake For Breakfast on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.